Monday, February 21, 2011

The Early Bird.....

Here we are, at the beginning of week eight, and I guess now we can call all the sessions, rest, work, and fun something of a routine, not 'routine' in a negative sense, but a structured routine. What I have noticed most is that scheduling and completing training sessions in the morning prior to work does wonders for my energy level, which seems to sustain me through the day. I'm sure I'm not the only one out there who's work doesn't get them super primed all the time - though who wouldn't love a job like that, so the idea that my training helps drive my mood and energy level makes it all the more appealing - especially at 5a.m., when it's dark, and I'm reticent to leave the warmth of the covers.

The only one that is a bit of a pain is the Monday morning swim, which requires forethought on the wardrobe front - not my strong suit, a car ride, and then a 'lovely' shower at the Rec Centre. Blech.  Not exactly my idea of a fabulous start to the week. Tack on getting stuck in traffic on the way home afterward, and voila..... 'wrong side of the bed without caffeine' scale irritability. Now, the nice thing about that Monday morning swim is that no one talks to you, so there aren't any run ins with any random 'Super Swim Coach' types, instead, everyone just gets in, grinds it out, and hits the showers. In some ways, those mornings make me want to chop off my hair, to shave precious moments off the prep time, so I can get home and not have to hoover my cereal as I put on mascara, feed the dog and do up my boots. But, in the name of vanity, I have so far vowed to keep my long hair, which is honestly so much easier from a styling point of view.... regardless of how long it takes to dry.

Doing sessions in the morning also allows me an hour or two on my own to get my head together, before the other creatures begin stirring in our house. My husband is a night owl, so he catches some extra winks while I'm in the basement, and then we're on the same wave length by the time we both sit down for breakfast and coffee to hash out the day. Everybody wins. At the moment, I allow myself Fridays as complete rest days, meaning I sleep until 7a.m., which while a treat at the time, results in a very tired me by about 1:30 p.m., so I'm still figuring that one out.

Over the past few weeks, I have noticed some changes in my level of fatigue, which I initially attributed to picking up a bug that has been making it's way through our family. And then I started to have some weird dreams, and when that happens I always find that I wake up more tired than I was when I went to bed.... maybe it was the creative juices telling me that I was once again late with a post..... or maybe it was because I'd had dairy before bed.... Anyway, the point is, I've noticed it, and am taking steps to ensure the bod gets what it needs in terms of rest.

Training wise, it's been a productive time, I had been experiencing some discomfort in my right leg while running, especially during faster pieces, but with a stronger focus on the stretch, and some massage, it seems to be on it's way to normal. 

Two swims, at least two rides (including two hours with the Cast Iron gang on Saturday), weights and three runs yet to come this week, follow me on Twitter - @nicolesdski -  for details/dirt on those workouts.

Have a great week. Let's enjoy what's left of February, clear roads are in our future!


Monday, February 7, 2011

Swim-Bike-Run-Ski?

Ok, I admit it, a week has blown by without a post. I could blame overwork, lack of internet connection, even writer's block, but truth be told, I went skiing. My father-in-law has been visiting from the UK and we took him skiing, night skiing, bitterly-cold day skiing, and an Ottawa rarity, powder skiing. This resulted in my falling asleep on the couch at least three evenings in a row, a function of keeping up with my swim-bike-run and extra cross-training/fresh air from skiing. Not a lot of fresh air available when one spends most weekdays in a highrise office building. Unfortunately, that time has passed and now I'm back in the highrise office building for at least 7.5 hours a day. I should mention that, I've had full endorsement of skiing from the director/head coach of my triathlon club, Coach G says it's great cross training!

On the IM training front, I had a good week that lead into very productive weekend, my weekend ride ramped up, and will hit two hours next Saturday. This may not seem long, but there are a few factors, for one, it's February and second, my training plan is explicit when it comes to keeping indoor trainer rides to durations that will not result in the rider "going mental", honestly, it's right there in black and white. After month three though, I think all bets will be off, the "going mental" is implied.

My long run, finally, was just that. I managed to get in just over 14 km, which in the past would have had me whining about soreness in my legs, and overall fatigue. I'm very happy to report that overall, it felt great, both during and after. I find myself truly buying in to heart rate training, and this has shown that limits I thought I had before (having been a long time run-walker) can actually be surpassed. That's not to say that I'm blasting through any speed records, but I'm feeling alot more comfortable on the run. I'm well ahead of where I have been in Februarys past, and if I can stay healthy and injury free, I should be in great shape once spring hits, and the more competitive season starts.

Come spring, in fact, I may have another competitor on my trail, in recent weeks, my Mom has started walking, and I see big things for her. This could be the first year of mother-daughter participation in an upcoming race! I'm stoked for her, and I look forward to her first finish line.

I hope you've all had a great week, more posting diligence on my part is planned for next week!